Routes for corporate learning startups
| Route | Max credits | Who qualifies | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Activate Founders | $1,000 | Self-funded, live website, no prior Activate credits | Open |
| Activate via a Provider | Up to $100,000 | Backed by an accelerator, VC or incubator in the Activate network | Open |
| AWS EdStart | Amount not disclosed | Edtech (US, under 5 years, under $10M revenue) | 2017 post; current status unverified |
| Our partner match | Same as AWS | Any corporate learning startup; we suggest the best route | Open |
Amounts are programme ceilings, not what every company gets. Approval is never guaranteed.
What credits cover, and what they don't
- Compute: EC2, Lambda, ECS, Fargate
- Databases: RDS, Aurora, DynamoDB
- Storage: S3, EBS
- AI models: Amazon Bedrock on-demand usage
- Networking: CloudFront, data transfer
- Most first-party AWS services
- AWS Marketplace third-party software
- Route 53 domain name registration
- Upfront Reserved Instances and Savings Plans
- Business or Enterprise Support plans
- Taxes added to your bill
- Mining or other prohibited use
AWS programmes for corporate learning
- Status unconfirmed
AWS EdStart
Amount not disclosed
Edtech (US, under 5 years, under $10M revenue). 2017 post; current status unverified.
Source: AWS Public Sector Blog
Does a corporate learning company qualify?
- Product startups (software or hardware you sell) qualify for Activate. Agencies, consultancies and dev shops that bill by the hour usually don't, unless they're building their own product.
- Your company is usually under 10 years old, pre-Series B for the Provider tier, and hasn't had Activate credits before.
- Past the startup stage? Established corporate learning companies can look at business and migration funding instead.
- Nonprofit or researcher? The AWS Imagine Grant and Cloud Credit for Research are separate from Activate.
Before you apply: readiness checklist
Most rejections come from fixable paperwork. Tick what you have ready: 0 of 8 done.
What credits buy for a corporate learning product
ECS or Amplify app, RDS, S3 and CloudFront for course video, Cognito for student sign-in
MVP
$250/mo
Amplify$90
RDS$55
CloudFront$35
Cognito$25
S3$15
Data transfer, logs & support$30
Runway
$5,00020 mo
$25,000100 mo
$100,000400 mo
Seed
$1,500/mo
Amplify$540
RDS$330
CloudFront$210
Cognito$150
S3$90
Data transfer, logs & support$180
Runway
$5,0003.3 mo
$25,00017 mo
$100,00067 mo
Growth
$8,000/mo
Amplify$2,880
RDS$1,760
CloudFront$1,120
Cognito$800
S3$480
Data transfer, logs & support$960
Runway
$5,0000.6 mo
$25,0003.1 mo
$100,00013 mo
Planning estimates based on us-east-1 On-Demand list prices for the typical stack above, including storage, data transfer and support. Not an AWS quote; your bill depends on region, traffic and commitments. Credits usually expire after 12 to 24 months.
Estimate your corporate learning bill
Enter your numbers to see the monthly AWS bill and how long credits last.
Monthly active learners$80
Live class hours$200
Video lesson views (hours)$100
Stored files (GB)$5
Base stack (network, monitoring, backups)$80
Monthly total$465
Credits last
$1,0002.2 mo
$25,00054 mo
$100,00099+ mo
IVS, S3, CloudFront and DynamoDB list prices, approximate. Estimates, not an AWS quote. Credits usually expire in 12 to 24 months.
Where corporate learning startups burn credits fastest
Scaling for exam week all year
Capacity for the busiest week of the term sits idle the rest of the year.
Fix: Use scheduled scaling tied to the academic calendar.
Recording every live class in high resolution
Recordings pile up in S3 Standard and are rarely rewatched after a month.
Fix: Lifecycle recordings to Glacier after 60 days.
Self-hosted video conferencing
Media servers bill per hour whether classes run or not.
Fix: Use the Chime SDK or IVS, billed per minute.
NAT Gateway data charges
Every private subnet sending traffic to the internet through a NAT Gateway pays about $0.045 per GB on top of the hourly fee. Pulling container images or calling third-party APIs from private subnets adds up fast.
Fix: Use VPC endpoints for S3, ECR and DynamoDB, and keep chatty services in public subnets behind security groups where it is safe.
Unbounded CloudWatch logs
Debug-level logs from every request are ingested at about $0.50 per GB and kept forever by default.
Fix: Set log retention to 14 or 30 days and lower log levels in production.
How a corporate learning request flows through AWS
- 0Your users
- 1Amplify
- 2IVS / Chime SDK / MediaConvert
- 3DynamoDB or Aurora
- 4S3
- 5Amazon Bedrock
Reference AWS setup for corporate learning
- AppAmplify + AppSync / Lambda · Web and mobile apps with real-time updates
- VideoIVS / Chime SDK / MediaConvert · Live classes and on-demand lessons
- DataDynamoDB or Aurora · Courses, progress and grades
- FilesS3 + CloudFront · Assignments, PDFs and recordings
- AI tutoringAmazon Bedrock · Feedback, quizzes and summaries
Accelerators and investors for corporate learning
The bigger credit tiers usually come through a programme or investor. These are active in corporate learning; check each one's current AWS offer directly.
- VC
Edtech and future of work
- VC
Education technology, seed to growth
- Accelerator
Edtech accelerator
- Accelerator
Generalist programmes
AWS vs Google Cloud vs Azure for corporate learning
AWS Activate
$1,000 to $100,000+
Widest service range, largest partner and provider network
Google for Startups Cloud
Up to $200,000 ($350,000 for AI)
BigQuery, Vertex AI and Gemini
Microsoft for Startups
Up to $150,000 Azure
Azure OpenAI, Microsoft 365 and enterprise sales channels
Credits from different clouds can usually be held at the same time. Most founders pick one main cloud to avoid paying for data moving between them.
Ceilings are programme maximums and change often. Check each provider before applying.
Rules and gotchas for corporate learning
- Children's data has extra rules
- COPPA (US) and GDPR-K rules apply to under-13s; parental consent flows are required.
- Schools may require local hosting
- Public school districts often require data to stay in-country.
Compliance for corporate learning
- AWS paperwork
- Schools often ask for SOC reports; AWS's are in AWS Artifact, but your own controls need their own audit.
- Eligible services
- Collect the minimum student data and keep it in your chosen region.
- Not paid by credits
- Audits, certifications and third-party compliance tools.
Related niches
Questions
Is there a special AWS credit programme for corporate learning startups?
Yes: AWS EdStart (Amount not disclosed; 2017 post; current status unverified). Standard AWS Activate also applies.
How much in AWS credits can a corporate learning startup get?
The largest pot is AWS EdStart: Amount not disclosed. Otherwise Activate gives up to $200,000 through a provider.
Do AWS credits cover what a corporate learning product runs on?
Usually yes. A typical setup (ECS or Amplify app, RDS, S3 and CloudFront for course video, Cognito for student sign-in) is covered by promotional credits. Marketplace purchases, support plans and taxes are not.
How long will credits last for a corporate learning startup?
At about $250/month (MVP), $25,000 lasts around 100 months, though credits usually expire after 12 to 24 months.
Can I stay compliant while using AWS credits?
Yes. Credits don't change your compliance duties. Schools often ask for SOC reports; AWS's are in AWS Artifact, but your own controls need their own audit. Credits never pay for audits or third-party compliance tools.
What if AWS rejects my corporate learning application?
Try a different route: an Activate Provider, another niche programme, Google for Startups Cloud Program or Microsoft for Startups Founders Hub, or our partner match.
Find your best route for corporate learning
Answer four questions and we'll match you with a partner who knows corporate learning. Free, and the credits are the same as going direct.
Cloud Credits is independent and not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by Amazon Web Services. AWS and AWS Activate are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. Data last checked 3 October 2026; check AWS for current terms.